1419 V St NW
The large Catholic parish of St. Paul had a congregation primarily of Irish and German descent. With the rise of integration and shifting urban demographics, membership at St. Paul dwindled steadily until 1961, when Archbishop Patrick O’Boyle decreed that the parishes of St. Paul and St. Augustine would be united. In 1979, after St. Augustine's property at 15th St NW and S St NW was sold, the Saint Paul buildings here were renovated to house the consolidated ministries. In 1982, the parish's name was changed to St. Augustine. Explore the history of St. Augustine prior to its move to this location here.